The Central Registry for Sustainability Data

With the European infrastructure project for sustainability, the EU-OSR offers the solution for more transparency and comparability.

The Subject

Our consumption always has a direct impact on our environment and the climate. In order to better understand and classify these individual environmental impacty, we as consumers need more transparency. For example: How sustainable are the products we buy? What is the average CO2 value of a product?  How much water was used in its production? Under what conditions was it produced?

 

Product innovation towards more sustainability, responsible consumption and the successive reduction of climate-damaging environmental impacts, such as the individual CO2 footprint, are at the top of the agenda towards climate neutrality.

As a non-profit, the Organisation for Sustainable Consumption (OfnK) relies on partnerships and actively promotes dialogue between all stakeholders involved, including political associations, companies, startups, non-governmental organisations and research institutions in order to connect them to who we are all: consumers.

 

The common language we are working on is a unified data foundation that serves as an objectifiable basis for measurement. 

To gain transparency and visibility in relation to our environmental impact, we need a publicly accessible and centralised registry for all sustainability data. It enables consumers to consciously make more sustainable purchasing decisions.

abstract_elements.png

Our solution 

The European Sustainability Register
(The European Open Sustainability Register) - EU-OSR - is a platform that centrally collects sustainability information directly related to our daily consumption. We create transparency in payment transactions, because transaction data allows conclusions to be drawn about the individual environmental impact of consumers. We have developed an open standard for the financial industry, which is used by various players in the industry. The standard is supplemented with receipt data to increase transparency directly in the retail sector.

 

The result is a knowledge platform on which average values for climate impact data (CO2, water consumption, land use, etc.) are managed. Average values are made transparent, measurable and comparable at product level within their classes. To record and classify these data, the EU-OSR integrates the commodity groups of the internationally valid Harmonized System (HS) of the World Customs Organization. This records all tradable goods in 97 chapters and over 5,000 subheadings and ranks them according to tariff.

The Open Sustainability Registry enables EU stakeholders to review the goals set by business and government and measure their progress. 

news_icon.png

Our latest contribution in the 2nd edition of the special supplement
Sustainable Value published by the online magazine Deutscher Anwaltspiegel

EU-OSR

EU_OSR_logo_160px.png

Launch of EU-OSR as an open platform for sustainability data at product level.

Trailblazer

#1.png

Join the dialogue between politics, business, science and society & support our EU-OSR initiative

News

Das zentrale
Register für
Nachhaltigkeitsdaten

Mehr Transparenz & Vergleichbarkeit:
Das EU-OSR als europäisches 

Infrastrukturprojekt für Nachhaltigkeit 

Das Thema

Unser Konsum hat immer eine direkte Wirkung auf unsere Umwelt und das Klima. Um diese individuellen Umwelteinflüsse besser zu verstehen und einordnen zu können, benötigen wir als Konsument*innen mehr Transparenz. Zum Beispiel wie nachhaltig sind Produkte, die wir kaufen? Wie hoch ist der CO2-Durchschnittswert eines Produktes? Wieviel Wasser wurde bei der Produktion verwendet? Unter welchen Bedingungen wurde es hergestellt?

 

Produktinnovation hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit, verantwortungsbewusster Konsum und die sukzessive Reduktion klimaschädigender Umwelteinflüsse, wie der individuelle CO2 Fußabdruck, stehen ganz oben auf der Agenda hin zur Klimaneutralität.

Als gemeinnützige Organisation für nachhaltigen Konsum (OfnK) setzen wir auf Partnerschaften und fördern den Dialog zwischen allen beteiligten Akteuren von der Politik über Verbände, Unternehmen, Startups, Nichtregierungs-organisationen und Forschungseinrichtungen bis hin zu dem was wir alle sind: Konsument*innen.

 

Die gemeinsame Sprache, an der wir arbeiten, ist ein einheitliches Datenfundament, das als objektivierbare Bemessungsgrundlage dient. 

Für Transparenz und Sichtbarkeit brauchen wir ein öffentlich zugängliches & zentrales Register für Nachhaltigkeitsdaten. Es ermöglicht Konsument*innen bewusst nachhaltigere Kaufentscheidungen zu treffen.

abstract_elements.png

Unsere Lösung

Das Europäische Nachhaltigkeitsregister
(The European Open Sustainability Register) – EU-OSR – ist eine Plattform, auf der Nachhaltigkeits-Informationen zentral gesammelt werden, die einen direkten Bezug zu unserem täglichen Konsum haben. 
Wir schaffen Transparenz beim Zahlungsverkehr, denn Transaktionsdaten lassen Rückschlüsse auf den individuellen Umwelteinfluss von Konsument*innen zu. Wir haben einen offenen Standard für die Finanzindustrie entwickelt, der von verschiedenen Akteuren in der Industrie angewandt wird. Ergänzt wird der Standard mit Kassenbon-Daten, um die Transparenz direkt im Einzelhandel zu erhöhen.

Entstanden ist eine Wissensplattform auf der Durchschnittswerte für sog. Climate Impact Data (CO2, Wasserverbrauch, Landnutzung etc.) verwaltet werden. Durchschnittswerte werden auf Produktebene innerhalb ihrer Klassen transparent, messbar und vergleichbar gemacht. Zur Erfassung und Klassifizierung dieser Daten integriert das EU-OSR die Warengruppen des international gültigen Harmonisierten Systems (HS) der Weltzollorganisation. Dieses erfasst in 97 Kapiteln und über 5.000 Unterpositionen alle handelbaren Waren und reiht diese tariflich ein.

Das Open Sustainability Registry ermöglicht EU- Stakeholdern die von der Wirtschaft und Politik gesteckten Ziele zu prüfen und deren Fortschritt zu messen. 

news_icon.png

Unser neuester Beitrag in der 2. Ausgabe der Sonderbeilage
Sustainable Value herausgegeben von dem Online-Magazin Deutscher Anwaltspiegel

EU-OSR

EU_OSR_logo_160px.png

Launch des EU-OSR als offene Plattform für Nachhaltigkeitsdaten auf Produktebene.

Vorreiter

#1.png

Dialog zwischen Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft anschließen & unsere EU-OSR Initiative unterstützen

Aktuell